HOW I LOST 100LBS

image

image

I say 100, “officially” it is 98lbs, but that all depends on the day. You know what I mean – stress, water weight, a little too much cake. That can all change that number, but it is around that number.

ARE YOU FOLLOWING ME ONFACEBOOK? FOLLOW FOR NEW HEALTHY RECIPES AND WEIGHT LOSS TIPS.

If you want to be kept up to date on more posts like this and the healthy recipes that helped me to lose 100lbs, then please subscribe to the blog mailing list (it takes 30 seconds) and you will get sent the new recipes straight to your inbox. Your email address won’t be passed on to anyone and you will never be spammed. Click here to sign up.

You know I am not obsessed with that number though. My motivation always was and always will be my health – but society is so obsessed with the number on the scale and people can’t see the changes to my health as much as they can see the changes of my appearance, so it is sometimes easy to talk about the number. People react well to a number.

Anyway, with this being a blog about my weight loss and health and everything I ate/eat to keep it that way, I have spoken in detail about how I lost the weight, but I thought it might be nice to condense it down into bullet points of what I did. Obviously there is much more too it than bullet points and this list is not intended to make it look easy (it definitely wasn’t), but it gives you an idea of all the changes that I made.

We all have to find what works for us, so just because all of these things worked for me doesn’t mean they will work for you. I tried a lot of things that worked for other people, but they didn’t work for me. It doesn’t make them all wrong. It comes down to trial and error.

Here goes……………

Set myself small goalsMade one change at a timeI didn’t focus on losing 100lbs – I focused on losing 5lbs at a timeI bought a Wii Fit so I could workout at homeI went swimmingWalked everywhereDid workouts during the breaks whilst watching TVI found workouts that I enjoyedI became aware of portion sizesCooked healthier versions of the junk food that I lovedI counted caloriesFound a balance with clean eating and still eating the things I likedI educated myself and read everything I could have health and fitnessSigned up to weight loss forums/health and fitness Facebook pages and blogsI cut out processed foodI started cooking everything myselfI didn’t beat myself up if I ate something I shouldn’t or skipped a workoutFit my workouts in where I could – like doing squats whilst cookingStopped making excusesMade sure I was sleeping enoughStopped being scared of lifting weights (they won’t make you bulky)Stopped dieting (it is a lifestyle, not a diet)Quit the artificial sweetenersAlways had breakfastSwitched to wholegrainsStopped saying “I can’t”Cut out the negative people in my lifeAte more fruit and vegetablesListened to my body and rested when I needed to and ate when I was truly hungryCelebrated my success without food (a pair of shoes or a trip to the cinema)Worked out 5 days a week for 45 minutes to an hourMade sure I was drinking enough water (but not too much)Gave up fizzy drinks and only drank water and green teaGave up alcohol for 3 months (it helped me cut out other bad habits too)Dealt with my emotional eatingI made time for my workouts – I didn’t find timeAlways reminded myself there is no such thing as perfectStopped comparing myself to other peopleBought myself nice workout clothes so I felt good during my workoutsDid some food prep for the weekPlanned some of my meals for the weekAte less calories than I was burning, but still made sure I was eating enoughTook my body measurements each week to track my progress (kept me motivated)Snacked wiselyReminded myself that there was no end date. I was getting fit for lifeStarted thinking more positivelyStarted each day as a new day and left yesterday in the pastStopped seeing food as the enemy and stopped labelling it as good and badAlways changed my routine to keep my body guessingMade time to relaxMade appointments for my workouts just like I would a meetingPut motivational quotes around my housePut up photos that motivated meMade sure there was plenty of fibre in my dietAte lots of healthy fatsDidn’t go back for a second portion of dinnerAte slowerDid yoga – great for releasing stress and toning upIdentified my eating triggersBulked out pasta dishes with spinachAte berries with my breakfastGot creative with salads Added herbs and spices to boring clean mealsUsed my slow cooker a lotStill allowed myself the foods I liked, but in moderation and not all the timeTracked all my food (in the beginning)Was honest with myself – lying about what I ate to my food diary didn’t get me anywhereLimited animal fatsIncluded protein with every mealStarted reading the labels on everything I boughtStopped ordering pizza and fries to be deliveredNever gave up (despite many falls and wanting to many times)

image

*Note – it didn’t take from 2007 to 2011 for me to lose weight, it took me 18 months, above is just when the photos were taken* You can read more about my weight loss in the About Me section.

That list might seem like a lot, but like one of the first points says – make one change at a time. I didn’t do all of these things straight away and I learnt them along the way. Make changes that are going to make you feel healthy and stick with it. You are stronger than you give yourself credit for. Want some healthy meal ideas? Take a look at the recipe section.

Leave a Reply

